NYHAVN – COPENHAGEN

What is the first thing that comes to your mind when you think Copenhagen? Yes you’re right – beautiful lovely colourful old european buildings by the sea. If you’re planning to visit Copenhagen anytime, do make sure you visit this lovely place known as Nyhavn (or New Harbour in Danish). Nyhavn was constructed by King Christian V from 1670 to 1673, dug by Swedish war prisoners from the Dano-Swedish War 1658–1660. It was a gateway from the sea to the old inner city at Kongens Nytorv(King’s Square), where ships handled cargo and fishermens’ catch. At that time, it was notorious for beer, sailors, and prostitution. Famous Danish author Hans Christian Andersen lived at Nyhavn for some 18 years (Source Wikipedia. You can check out more about Nyhavn at this link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nyhavn).

Today this place is one of the most frequented attractions by tourists. The old buildings have transformed into beautiful warm & cosy multi-cuisine restaurants and coffee shops with people relaxing, soaking in the atmosphere, the fresh sea breeze along with their food and wine. For a photographer – what can be more delightful than a delightful play of colours, lovely old European buildings from the 17th century, lined with old ships from that era – I’d call that bliss! Every shot that I took, I could immediately frame a painting in my mind – and I’m glad the shots came out looking that way – like paintings! So here you go – my shots from the short visit to Nyhavn.

DSC_9863

DSC_9865

DSC_9866

DSC_9867

DSC_9871

DSC_9873

DSC_9875

DSC_9876

DSC_9880

DSC_9885

All these pictures are available as high quality fine-art prints. In case interested, please write to me at debabrata.ray@gmail.com for sizes, pricing and delivery options. Please do not use any of these images in any form whatsoever without the prior written consent or purchase of a license from me.

I hope you liked looking at the pictures as much as I loved taking them! I would love to hear what you think about this post and the others I have on this blog. Do leave a comment below and let me know how you feel!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

