THE NEW DELHI RAIL MUSEUM

I have to admit, trains, especially locomotives have a very special place in my heart. From when I was a kid I used to love travelling in or just plain watching trains. I remember the horn of an approaching train used to make me run to the nearest vantage point to get a peek at this wonderful master-piece of human engineering – I sometimes would count the number of wagons the train has – if it was a freight train (those can be pretty long – at times having 100+ wagons) or trying to see the name of the train written on the side of the first and last bogie’s. Today I got a chance to visit the National Rail Museum in New Delhi.


It was amazing to see locomotives and trains in that place from an era long gone by. There were steam locomotives of all sizes and of all line gauges. Although primarily black and silver, some were painted in bright colors such as Yellow and Green as well. I was overwhelmed by the sight of these gentle giants and somewhere in my mind I was trying to imagine how these majestic machines would’ve been shooting steam all around them making that famous chugging sound and that lovely cooing whistle as they run through the country-side; which somehow in today’s modern age – we’ve lost being able to relate with. Today’s shoot was a bag of mixed feelings – while I was satisfied at the thought of having been able to click a lot of interesting pictures – but I came home and realized that my memory card was giving me problems and I lost majority of my shot pictures today. Nonetheless, here are a few pictures which I managed to Salvage from my shoot today. Hope you enjoy them. Please do remember to leave a comment at the bottom of this post if you enjoyed looking at these pictures.

Follow me on facebook: Debabrata Ray Photography

One thought on “THE NEW DELHI RAIL MUSEUM

  1. hey there and thank you for your information – I have definitely picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise several technical issues using this website, since I experienced to reload the site lots of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for a lot more of your respective exciting content. Ensure that you update this again very soon..

Leave a Reply

