FOCUS ISSUES IN MY NIKON D90 RESOLVED

I just thought I’ll share an interesting analysis (actually its more of an experimentation rather than analysis) with all of you. Recently whenever I would sit down to start working on my pictures I would notice that the area I wanted to be tack sharp (yeah I’m a sharp junkie) wouldn’t really turn out that way. I know from experience that there are a lot of  factors that could contribute to this – some of them would be lesser shutter speeds causing motion blur, higher ISO noise, a camera focus issue, a lens issue (Somewhere in my mind I was thinking this may be the problem – especially when I had dropped my 18-70mm lens on the floor last month) and of-course a factor typically overlooked in some of these cases is the sweet spot of the lenses – i.e. what is the aperture at which the lens shoots the sharpest (majority of the lenses produce very good results when stopped down a little bit and the kit lenses typically would produce really sharp images at an f/7.1 to f/9.0 range.


In order to get to the bottom of this, I had to carry out a few experiments and eliminate each cause one by one. So I started out with changing my lens (as I mentioned earlier I was thinking that my lens may be causing this – although the Nikon kit lenses are pretty well built, but still not so well as the more professional ones). I observed that the issue would continue to creep in even in my other lenses – so I knew now that its not a lens issue. I then started shooting with both my test lenses at f/8.0 and the problem would still persist. I also clicked a few pictures at higher shutter speeds (1/120th of a second or so) to eliminate any motion blur. None of these yielded the result I was looking for, although in the process I had eliminated all possibilities contributing to this irritating phenomenon except for the camera itself. With my attention now focused on the camera I started with the most obvious place to start – I went into the custom settings menu options and started looking at my focus options. I reset auto focus to single area (I waned to make sure I choose the focus area in my picture instead of letting the camera choose the focus area), followed by 3D focus tracking – no results. The one item that I reset and which nailed the problem for me was the focus area – I noticed that the focus area was set to wide – I believe I had set it myself; I set that back to normal – took a few pictures and bang I had nailed it!

For clarity here are the steps I followed to resolve the problem:

Menu options > Custom Settings Menu > AF Area Mode – changed to Single Area – now I choose the focus are point manually while shooting – gives me greater control on where I want to focus in my composition

Menu options > Custom Settings Menu > Center focus area – changed to Normal zone – this had been set to wide zone

Apart from this I still believe developing the right technique is very important to nail the overall quality of images (I’ll keep saying though that composition and lighting are the prime factors to get a good picture – sharpness won’t take your pictures to the next step – it really is the next step once you get a good picture)  – shoot at higher shutter speeds (even if you have to use a high ISO especially now that cameras have really evolved in the high ISO noise space, moreover you can fix noise satisfactorily but not blur), shoot while stopping down a bit, if you do have to shoot with a shallow depth of field – make sure you look through your view-finder (or if you have a live view option in your camera use that), make sure you’re focusing accurately and try manual focus wherever possible. Happy shooting!

One thought on “FOCUS ISSUES IN MY NIKON D90 RESOLVED

Leave a Reply

